Disabling TurboPage in HughesNet 7000 & 9000 Modems
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    IMVU Forum Index -> Issues and Bug Reporting
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
VesperSteelwater 18+ Age Verified

VesperSteelwater <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 1741
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 5:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the HN7000S modem and have had problems with imvu for like 6 or 7 months now and the turbo disable does not work for me... I can log on with version 451.0 but takes for ever to load avi and friends and has many errors and just annoying to even log on much anymore... I used to be a creator but can't do it anymore... Imvu told me it was my provider which is hughes but the problem is actually imvu and their program cause imvu is the only program I have problems with.. I am a gamer and can play the most recent games with no problem currently playing Star Wars: The Old Republic which is a online game and I have no trouble with it... Imvu needs to wake up and come into the 21rst century and hire techs who actually know what they are doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
CobraKincaide 18+ Age Verified

CobraKincaide <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 27 Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope this helps some people. I was directed to this thread to solve my wife's issue of not being able to get a home avi screen or avi to show up and she has Hughes with the white 9000 Modem.

What i figured out was that you have to go on the login box and open it but don't login. From there disable the Turbo then login. This will get you the Home Screen and your AVi will appear. You are also able to use IMVU for approximately 20-30 minutes without any issues then the Turbo re enables itself automatically at some point and boots you off. If there's a way to keep the Turbo disabled I believe the issue would be solved.

Once I figure out the next step I will post more or if anyone wants to chime in please by all means do cuz 2 heads are better than 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
LestatDeLioncourt VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified
Moderator
LestatDeLioncourt <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 5847
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:12 am    Post subject: Re: Disabling TurboPage in HughesNet 7000 & 9000 Modems Reply with quote

TonyTitan wrote:
For users with the white 9000 modems, this is an easy process...You simply access the <<< more >>>


UPDATE: This is no longer a fix. All modems manufactured after Sept. 2011 will no longer work with IMVU. Even with Turbo-Page disabled. If you are currently using this service I suggest you purchase an extra modem manufactured before that time period. In discussing this issue with Hughes Net Engineers, the older ones are not available from Hughes Net.

IMVU will no longer be able to have any customer using Hughes Net unless the IMVU Chat Login is fixed. Later versions of the Modem 9000 (last fall release) will no longer login to the client and All newer versions of the 9200 and on will not Logon. This is regardless of Turbo-Page Settings. Nor will most other Companies Satellite Modems.

It seems the Satellite Modems in General have inherit delays in transmission and reception of data. This is due to the fact of the delay in sending signal to and from the Satellite in upper atmosphere. IMVU has a more strict login to the client than any other Virtual Reality Chat World I can find, anywhere. I assume IMVU chose this type of Login to protect the community from 'Bots and Spammers', etc. I mean within the client itself. These types of things have plagued other VRCWs over the years.

It is a shame these types of modems work fine with all other Virtual Chat Worlds (16 tested) that allow creation of Virtual Goods and have paying customers. This over time will limit IMVU's customer base more and more.

To reiterate, all newer Satellite modems (in general, not just Hughes Net) won't work with IMVU client login unless IMVU addresses the issue Sad

Statistics show more and more rural people now have Internet available to them. 74% more than even 5 years ago. This type of Internet Service via Satellite is more available World-Wide !!! More than ever.

I hope IMVU takes advantage of this newer type of service and conforms to the newer customer base for our futures.
_________________

New Halloween Products Click HERE:


Last edited by LestatDeLioncourt VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified on Mon Mar 12, 2012 3:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
CobraKincaide 18+ Age Verified

CobraKincaide <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 27 Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
UPDATE: This is no longer a fix. All modems manufactured after Sept. 2011 will no longer work with IMVU. Even with Turbo-Page disabled. If you are currently using this service I suggest you purchase an extra modem manufactured before that time period. In discussing this issue with Hughes Net Engineers, the older ones are not available from Hughes Net.

Can someone please recommend a make and model and make of a modem that's compatible with IMVU login and where it can be purchased as we really need to get one. Hughes is the only ISP in the area and we're stuck with them for internet from my understanding. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
LestatDeLioncourt VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified
Moderator
LestatDeLioncourt <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 5847
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 6:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

-
Hughes Net Modems are proprietary. I know of no known other models that will work. If you have the correct Dish and Service to be able to use the series 7000 or 9000 ( not the 9200) AND it was manufactured prior to Sept 2011 it 'should' work with TonyTitan's instructions.

You will have to Google sites to find one for sale and make sure to ask them to look at the Manufacture date on the sticker on the modem. It may be in a code form or in a standard date format. More information on "date coding" would be best obtained from the USA Engineers from Hughes Net. If you are persistent enough with the over-seas help desk, they can transfer you to a USA Engineer that is "in the know".
_________________

New Halloween Products Click HERE:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
VesperSteelwater 18+ Age Verified

VesperSteelwater <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 1741
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well My modem is like 4 years old... I can log in with version 451.0 or any 451 version but none after that... On 451 version it takes a few minutes for avi or friends to appear and ever so often I get error messages when loading rooms and sometimes have problems with outfits.

With any version above that when I start imvu only the little icon will appear at the bottom of the screen.. Now if I have just freshly installed a newer version once it is installed the log in screen will appear but once I hit log in only the little icon will appear.. I have tried all the turbo page ideas and nothing works..

When I run trouble shooting on it, it says the imvu quality agent is incompatible... So if anyone has any suggestions or ideas it would be greatly appreciated.

Note: My modem is the HN7000S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Goldilocks VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified

Goldilocks <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 4225
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

KingValkerSythera wrote:
...So if anyone has any suggestions or ideas it would be greatly appreciated...


Yes. I have a suggestion. Pester IMVU to death about fixing this problem. They are the only ones who can. They will continue to lose current and potential customers, if they don't, because all of their competition sites do support modern satellite technology The number of satellite customers is rapidly increasing, and the U.S. federal government is even encouraging this by waiving installation fees for rural customers to get connected to the internet using this method. For those who are currently able to run the client using older satellite technology, be aware that IMVU's login currently doesn't support newer satellite technology. IMVU is BEHIND their competition in this respect because all of their competitor sites do support this type of technology. IMVU prides itself on moving forward, but on this one, they're falling behind the times and not keeping current with everyone else.

You can see this thread for more detailed information about this topic... NOT HughesNet specific.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
AnakaTarren VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified

AnakaTarren <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 5335
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 4:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is this ONLY a login issue?

If this problem affects more than just the IMVU login, my guess is that IMVU won't fix it ... or won't fix it anytime soon. Underlying technology issues can be extremely expensive to resolve.

Software systems caught in these situations sometimes wait for the new software/hardware used by other companies becomes more backwards compatible in future releases (which rarely but sometimes happens if there is high demand), wait until they have lost so many members they are forced to become compatible with new outside technology, or die a slow site death.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Goldilocks VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified

Goldilocks <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 4225
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anaka, extensive testing has been done. ALL other 3D virtual chat programs are compatible with modern satellite technology. IMVU is the ONLY one that does not work with this type of technology. I have yet to find a single, solitary other client that won't work with this type of technology. This is also not just a HughesNet issue, as it goes across the satellite industry to all satellite companies that have upgraded their systems to modern satellite protocol. The other satellite companies that have been tested will also not work with IMVU's login, but they will with all others. IMVU most certainly can't expect all these satellite companies to change their systems, just for them, because everywhere BUT IMVU works with this type of technology. IMVU is the odd duck on this one, and isn't keeping up with modern technology, when everyone else is. IMVU has already fallen behind their competition because all their competition has already made themselves compatible with this type of technology. IMVU has not.

***THIS IS NOT A HUGHESNET PROBLEM. IMVU's chat login does not work with the NEWER satellite technology, when all other virtual worlds do. Satellite companies can not be expected to change their technology, just for IMVU****
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
LestatDeLioncourt VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified
Moderator
LestatDeLioncourt <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 5847
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-
I did some research over a 2 week period in this thread that was locked. The post is about halfway down the page.

http://www.imvu.com/catalog/modules.php?op=modload&name=phpbb2&file=viewtopic.php&p=10013194#10013194

Hope it stays up (not deleted) for a while because there is good info there. I spent about 10 days coming up with that information. I can easily find another dozen Satellite Service Providers that cannot login to IMVU but *can* login to other VRWC sites. Technical Engineer Forums that these companies belong to are the same ones I use at work so much info is common and we have our casual chat areas - lol I managed to get several people interested in Joining IMVU in the process! Very Happy Seven of them could not :/ Cant login in to the client - lol

Recently the satellite industry has gone under change that wont allow TonyTitans setup to work on newer equipment. Compressing more information into smaller packets.

Kinda curious is; other things that no longer work on newer style satellite equipment are the oldest style fax machines. Who knows...
_________________

New Halloween Products Click HERE:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Goldilocks VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified

Goldilocks <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 18 May 2007
Posts: 4225
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KingValkerSythera wrote:
... So if anyone has any suggestions or ideas it would be greatly appreciated.


I hate to say this, but you have 3 options:

1. Try to get a hold of older satellite technology that will work with the IMVU client.

2. Wait for IMVU to update their current client login, in keeping with all other virtual worlds, although they have already stated that they have no plans to do so right now, and have not given any indication when they "might" get around to doing this... if ever.

3. Go to any other virtual world that will support newer satellite technology.

^I'm honestly quite worried about this last option, because I'm afraid that the longer IMVU prolongs this fix, the more customers and potential customers they will lose.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Mommajack VIP Club Member 18+ Age Verified
Moderator
Mommajack <a href='/vip_club/'><img src='/catalog/web_images/vip_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='VIP Club Member' /></a><!-- VIP Club Member Icon --> <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 30979
Location: USA - TX

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LestatDeLioncourt wrote:
-
I did some research over a 2 week period in this thread that was locked. The post is about halfway down the page.

http://www.imvu.com/catalog/modules.php?op=modload&name=phpbb2&file=viewtopic.php&p=10013194#10013194

Hope it stays up (not deleted) for a while because there is good info there. I spent about 10 days coming up with that information


You can always report it to this thread if you like, since it applies.
_________________
“The dumber people think you are, the more surprised they're going to be when you kill them.”
~~ William Clayton ~~
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Guest_joeslowzombie

Guest_joeslowzombie's page


Joined: 27 Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Location: USA - LA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

WHO was paid to provide the login scripts that are not industry compliant to standard anyway...



Nobody, and thats the problem. IMVU uses open source technology, the reason they use old outdated open source is because they are too cheap to pay royalties to use new up to date patented technology. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
ARCHIVALDOCRISOGONO

ARCHIVALDOCRISOGONO's page


Joined: 15 Oct 2009
Posts: 21
Location: Colombia

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oo
_________________
Dios Los Bendiga
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Spoony 18+ Age Verified

Spoony <a href='/age_verify/index/'><img src='/common/img/icons/age_verified_35x18.gif' width='35' height='18' alt='18+ Age Verified'/></a> 's page


Joined: 03 Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Location: USA - OK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 12, 2012 12:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Until imvu makes a change to their software or servers to account for the latency introduced by satellite's there will continue to be problems. The windowing that takes place between client and server is interupted often and has to be re established. After a while this causes the client to crash because it cannot account for the delay. If you cannot get the client to log in at all or get no response from imvu, disable the turbo page and any other accelerators you may have installed. If you were on a dial up connection before switching to satellite, uninstall any software that came with the dialup connection. Any type of compression used during satelitte transmission is removed once back on ground based system and passed along as normal tcp/ip traffic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message  
Display posts from previous:   


Hide ads? Get VIP!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    IMVU Forum Index -> Issues and Bug Reporting All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 4 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


 FAQFAQ   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages 

Search the forums:


Powered by phpBB